image

30 Day Fast for Me
Day 1

First things first. No eating after 7 sucks eggs!

OK. Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest.  This is DAY 1! I’ve put my little list up so I can keep track of what I’m doing for these  30 days. Why a fast? Isn’t  it just a New Year’s resolution?  Well, yes and no. I need to make a change in my life and to change I have to make a drastic declaration and really put myself out there. I also have to make time for myself and in order for me to do that, see above statement. So this is the beginning.

My list starts with NO fb FOR 30 DAYS.
Gasp! I thought I had my fb usage under control but I  saw another fast being trolled around fb and it said you must give up social media for 21 days. I instantly poo pooh’d that idea because I NEED my fb. That’s when I knew I had an issue. When I joined fb it was to reconnect with old classmates and relatives, then I realized I liked posting funny things, and inspiring words (mine or others ). Then people started telling me they looked forward to my posts and I thought I was doing something good for the universe.  By the end of 2015 I was using fb for EVERYTHING. I was giving my name on fb as contact information because I , through the magical smartphone,  can be reached anywhere. Then I wondered why my stress level is so high.  Being constantly connected to all of that isn’t good for you. So this is my top item. I have to give it up and focus on me.

Secondly, no caffeine for 30 days. This stinks too. I was doing well with 1 cup of coffee and 1 coke a day, until by days end I had at least a 2 liter. Coca-cola is my drug of choice.  My supervisor knows if I’m having a bad day by the amount of cokes I drink. He has even gotten me one to chill me out. Do we see a problem here?? There have been moments where I don’t even taste it. The cold, brown, bubbly liquid just slides down my throat and all my problems melt away. This is why this is number 2 on my list. I need to work on other ways to help my problems melt away.

I need to focus on my writing so I will be writing on this blog everyday. I thought I’d kill two birds with one stone by journaling about it but it’s not the same. I have been praying and studying about the power of prayer and fastings part in it. I’ll write about that tomorrow.  But I really need to tell you no eating after 7 really really stinks!

Leave a Reply

